U-Meleni Mhlaba-Adebo
2 min readMar 11, 2021

--

Selfie by U-Meleni Mhlaba-Adebo

PARADOX

Scene 1:

I was raised with two contradictions.

I could be both anything on my own

and nothing without a man.

a post-colonial child

I enjoyed the deliciousness of living in the country that was now mine,

ours.

A country with people who looked like me

leading

having pried the keys of the Kingdom

from its Imperial Masters.

Scene 2:

Growing up a girl there seemed to be cultural tests I needed to pass.

I had no idea what I should be studying.

Scene 3:

I have always been an immigrant.

Othered.

Even in my own land

What does Motherland even really mean?

Is it 1st soil?

I learned mother tongue

from my mother’s tongue

took me back home

during the war

front-row seat to a revolution.

At night

I would hear the thud of soldier’s gumboots

at my grandmother’s farm.

Gunshot sounds like 4th July fireworks

I would experience decades later in Boston.

Scene 4:

I never really knew my parents together.

I was too young when they broke ranks.

They have each offered me bits and pieces of their history

a jigsaw of sorts.

I am guessing they must have loved each other.

no one talks about love in my culture.

Perhaps love is a western construct

And for us “ Good Africans”

we have something deeper,

unnamed,

a necessary tolerance

so the tribe can grow

an heir can be born.

But I wasn’t an heir.

Scene 5:

I was told often by aunties I wasn’t sure were related to me

that I should eat my books,

swallow my pride

make sure to eat

because no one marries a skinny girl.

I was taught to cook sadza on the fire

in the thatched hut at Mbuya’s house

I hated the sting of soot in my eyes

or how my cousins had a firmer grip on the wooden stick when cooking.

make love without touching

mother without giving birth

feed a nation without dirtying your hands

you gotta keep supple for a man to choose you

God only loves clean women

wash out village ideas in the river

oil skin daily

wash your hair with herbs

be sweet like mangoes

speak and be silent

on your knees

be intelligent

but not too brilliant

to block out a man’s sun-rays

Scene 6:

I insisted on living LOUDLY

Came back to America when I grew up

Found my own earth

chose for MYSELF

in whose arms I could crumble

and still be Queen

his hands balme

fighting demons that circle our feet

strong like Olumo rock

he carries Yoruba warrior blood

in his veins

skin soiled by different suns

it’s been 96,360 hours we have been together

I still smile

say YES

a million times

when he asks me

in the morning.

--

--

U-Meleni Mhlaba-Adebo

Multi-disciplinary Artist |Poet | Performance Art| Marathoner |Author of poetry collection “Soul Psalms http://amzn.to/1T34SiV